cinnamon toast with cream cheese icing drizzle

Even people who are anti-icing seem to love a cake topper that involves cream cheese. And, as someone who’s pretty picky with icing, I would have to say I’m a devoted member of the cream cheese icing team.

I used to make carrot cake with a childhood friend of mine and we would often double the icing recipe just so we could ensure there’d be an adequate amount left over for spoon licking. (OK, it was just plain eating; the licking was unnecessary with the enormous volume of extra icing.)

This same friend, who later became my roommate in my first year away at university, taught me about the wonders of cinnamon toast, which, since it’s essentially devoid of nutrition, was never even part of a complete breakfast in my home. While it did not become a staple in my dining hall breakfasts, I would often enjoy a slice of the sugary, buttery toast for dessert.

Although I would normally reserve this recipe for a post-meal snack, I enjoyed it this morning for breakfast. I can’t wait to share this homage to my old friend (who moved to Israel four years ago but is coming home for the summer!) with her when she visits.

This super-simple recipe makes enough for two (or four if it’s a dessert) and can be ready in under 10 minutes!

  • 1/4 cup light cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup icing sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 Tbsp milk
  • 4 slices toast (I used multigrain)
  • 2 Tbsp margarine
  • 1 1/2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  1. Cream the icing sugar and cream cheese together with a fork.
  2. Whisk in the vanilla and milk and set the icing drizzle aside.
  3. In a small bowl, mash together the margarine, brown sugar and cinnamon.
  4. While the toast is still hot, spread the margarine mixture evenly across each piece.
  5. Drizzle the icing over the toasts or slice into strips and use the icing as a dipping sauce.
  6. If you like, garnish with fruit and more cinnamon.

This is a great breakfast/snack/dessert for when you need a little pick-me-up. It’s like a super-quick version of cinnamon rolls that you can easily share with friends and family.

Leave a Reply

